Carrot and Apple Smoothie

As promised, today I’m bringing you……my delicious carrot and apple smoothie recipe!

But first, a word about what inspired it. In a word? Stinginess. A couple of weeks ago I had the most delicious carrot and apple smoothie from Plant Organic. I loved it. I wanted to but one everyday and, as Planet Organic is just opposite my work and I have compulsive tendencies, there was a very real possibility that I would end up doing just that. There was only one issue. The cost: £3.50. That’s 17.50 a week. NO WAY. So, I decided to whip up my own instead. Which, for the record, probably cost about 60p total. Who says healthy food is more expensive?

 This is a really great pick-me up. The bright orange colour lifts your mood, the fibre from the carrot fills you up and the milk gives you some sateity-enhancing protein. Most importantly, its yummy!

Ingredients

  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 an apple (any type)
  • 1/3 cup (85ml) skimmed milk
  • Between 1/3 and 3/4 cup (85-187 ml) water (depending on whether you like your smoothies thick or liquidy)
  • good dash of ginger (fresh or ground)
  • a few ice cubes
  • Optional extras: 1 tbsp apple sauce; 1 tsp xytol or other natural sweetener of choice; pinch of cinnamon.

Just stick it in a blender, whip it all up and gulp it down.

Leave a Reply

