Not Baking

As it’s Sunday and I had time on my hands, I decided to bake this afternoon. When I want to relax, baking is always a good place to start. But after scouring some of my favourate healthy eating blogs for inspiration, I changed my mind when I stumbled upon a delicious-looking recipe for no-bake peanutbutter cakes on Oh She Glows. They looked too nutritious and delicious to resist!

I had to make a few amendments to the recipe – most importantly switching peanut butter for Green and Blacks Organic Hazlenut Chocolate Spread.

 In my view, a cake just isn’t a cake unless its chocolately!

I made a few other changes too, such as adding flax seeds for a kick of Omega 3 and some raisins (cause I love ’em!). I also upped the amount of spread and maple syrup (I guess I like things sweeter than Ange!). 

Here’s my ammended version of Angela’s recipe. (If you want the original, you can see it here: http://ohsheglows.com/2010/07/20/sunset-beach/)

Ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • 3/4 cup oats (Ange uses 1/4 cup crispy rice cereal, and just 1/2 cup oats, but I’d run out!)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  •  2 tbsp dark chocolate chips (Ange uses cacao nibs, which are more bitter but crunchier)
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1-2 tbsp raisins or saltanas
  • 1-2 tbsp flax seeds

Directions

  • Mash banana in a bowl.
  • Stir in cocoa powder, hazlenut spread, and maple syrup and stir until fully mixed. (I ate a fair amount of the mixture at this point!)
  •   Stir in the oats, chocolate, flax and raisins.

  • Spoon into a cake tray. You should be able to get about 4 cakes out of this.

  • Freeze in the freezer for about  an hour. 

Voila!

I’d recommend taking them out of the freezer about 20 mins before you plan to eat them, so they’re gooey and not too cold. They were de.lic.ious.  I ate one after a light workout, around 5pm, and it really re-energised me kept me full-up until dinner. I’ll certainly be putting this one in my recipe book!

Leave a Reply

