Ex.Haust.Ed.

WHAT A DAY. I am totally wiped out. A had a very long job interview starting at 9am and going on until 3.

I set myself up for this long, long day with a big ole bowl of Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes.

This is the first time I’ve tried Heritage Flakes. I was won over by their fabulous nutritional profile:

8% of your daily iron, 0g of cholesterol and 20% of your fibre needs in just one serving! However, I wasn’t prepared for quite how bland they would taste. Even though they’re ‘lightly sweetened with honey’ they tasted like cardboard. I had to add chopped banana and raisins just to make them palatable. What with all the sugar in them, I probably negated the health value of the flakes anyway!

Fortunately, they gave us some good food at the interview. I had half a smoke salmon and half a cheese sandwich for lunch, along with some grapes. When I got home I really felt in need of a healthful pick-me-up, so I made myself a delicious carrot-and-apple smoothy. The recipe still needs perfecting slightly, so I won’t post it just yet.

Now I’m relaxing for the evening, reading ‘Eat Yourself Slim’ (yes, that is how I chose to relax – I really am that much of a nutrition geek). Eat Yourself Slim is a ‘non-diet’ diet book by the grandfather of the low-GI movement, Michael Montignac. For a reformed calorie-counter like me, its such great reading because it totally validates my decision to stop counting calories. In the first chapter, Montignac explodes the myth that weight is all down to the simplistic ‘calories-in-versus-calories-out’ formula, quoting research findings such as:

  • in a study sample of obese people, only 15% ate too many calories. 34% ate normally and 51% ate too little!
  • The calorie intake for a group of children was found to have no direct correlation with their weight.
  • In most cases, obestity can be shown to be associated with a succession of low calorie diets followed over a period of several years, with post-diet weight-gain increasing after every successive diet, so that a person who started out kinda-fat and eating 2,800 cals/day, is liable to end up obese and eating just 1,000 cals a day after long-term yo-yo dieting.
  • When lab rats are forced to yo-yo diet, they loose weight slower with each new diet, as their bodies adapt to try to retain fat to protect against anticipated future diets.

Phew! How’s that for convincing? Montignacs argument is that weight gain is actually to do with eating too many high-GI carbs, but I’ll save the details of that to thrill you with another day……

Leave a Reply

